Institution

The Kunstverein Reutlingen is a place for contemporary art practice and discourse. It aims to present and disseminate contemporary visual art by reaching out to a wide audience and encouraging active participation in cultural processes. With approximately 1,000 sqm of exhibition spaces, it provides a unique platform for critical social discourse and new artistic tendencies. The Kunstverein Reutlingen is a member of the ADVK Working Group of German Art Associations.

History

Its characteristic brick building formerly housed the metal cloth and machine factory Christian Wandel, founded in 1869. Today, the Wandel-Hallen are both a reminder of the city’s industrial history and a place for contemporary creation. The Kunstverein Reutlingen is situated on the first floor and shares the building with the Kunstmuseum Reutlingen I konkret and the Kunstmuseum Reutlingen I Galerie as well as with the Foundation for Concrete Art.

The Hans Thoma Society was founded in 1953. In 1999, the name Kunstverein Reutlingen was added, which has been in exclusive use since the institution relocated from the town hall to the Wandel-Hallen in 2006. From 1953 to 1978, Alfred Hagenlocher (1914–1998) served as President of the Hans Thoma Society. During his tenure, he conceived numerous exhibitions with a focus on regional artists and those whose art had been labelled as “degenerate” in the Nazi years. But Hagenlocher had himself been a member of the NSDAP and the SS from the age of 17, and a member of the Gestapo from 1937 onwards. In his function as head of the Administrative Area IV 2 b at the so-called “Hotel Silber”, the Gestapo headquarters in Stuttgart, as well as in previous positions, Hagenlocher had ordered operations that convinced the postwar denazification tribunal to classify him as a major offender. After multiple appeals, the legal proceedings were eventually stayed in January 1951. Numerous files that can be accessed at the Haus der Geschichte Baden-Württemberg and at Hotel Silber in Stuttgart, in the State Archives in Ludwigsburg and in the Federal Archives in Koblenz evidence his complicity with the National Socialist regime.

The Kunstverein Reutlingen unequivocally distances itself from all forms of National Socialist ideology and discrimination of any kind, and supports the call for institutions to conduct critical reviews of their past in dialogue with historians.

Team

Imke Kannegießer, M.A.
Director
Maren Keß-Hälbig
Curatorial Assistant
Susanne Koch
Office Management and Member Support
Ingeborg Kehrer-Gmelin
Visitor Service
Kristina Nägele-Holder
Visitor Service
Monika Nickel
Visitor Service
Dr. Eberhard Böhm-Sturm
Technical Support

Board

Dr. Aline Lukaszewitz
Chairwoman
Dr. Jörg Meyer
1st Vice Chairman
Prof. Henning Eichinger
2nd Vice Chairman
Roland Martin
Treasurer
Eberhard Freudenreich
Artist
Eckart Hahn
Artist
Thomas Keck
Lord Mayor Reutlingen
Tanja Niederfeld
Artist
Dipl.-Ing. Hubert Reiff
Entrepreneur
Dipl.-Ing. Wolfgang Riehle
Architect
Ehrhard Vogel
Entrepreneur
Katharina Wandel-Kretzschmar
Entrepreneur

Institution

Der Kunstverein Reutlingen ist ein Ort zeitgenössischer Kunst- und Diskursproduktion. Das Ziel ist es, bildende Kunst der Gegenwart einer breiten Öffentlichkeit zu präsentieren und zu vermitteln und zur aktiven Teilhabe an kulturellen Prozessen einzuladen. Die rund 1000m² Ausstellungsfläche bieten Raum für gesellschaftstheoretische Diskurse und neue künstlerische Tendenzen. Der Kunstverein Reutlingen ist Mitglied der ADKV (Arbeitsgemeinschaft Deutscher Kunstvereine).

Geschichte

Das historische Gebäudeensemble beherbergte einst die 1869 gegründete Metalltuch- und Maschinenfabrik Christian Wandel. Heute präsentieren sich die Wandel-Hallen als industriegeschichtlicher Erinnerungsort und als Ort zeitgenössischer Kunst. Neben dem Kunstverein Reutlingen im 1. Obergeschoss, befinden sich noch zwei weitere Institutionen im Haus: Das Kunstmuseum Reutlingen I konkret und Kunstmuseum Reutlingen I Galerie sowie die Stiftung für Konkrete Kunst.

Die Hans-Thoma-Gesellschaft wurde 1953 gegründet. 1999 erfolgte der namentliche Zusatz Kunstverein Reutlingen, der seit dem Umzug 2006 vom Rathaus in die Wandel-Hallen alleinig Verwendung findet. Von 1953 bis 1978 war Alfred Hagenlocher (1914-1998) Präsident der Hans-Thoma-Gesellschaft. Während seiner Amtszeit konzipierte er zahlreiche Ausstellungen mit vorwiegend regionalen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern sowie mit denjenigen, die im Nationalsozialismus als entartet galten. Doch Alfred Hagenlocher war selbst ab seinem 17. Lebensjahr Mitglied der NSDAP und der SS, ab 1937 bei der Gestapo. In seiner Funktion als Leiter des „Hotel Silber“ in Stuttgart, dem Sachgebiet IV 2 b im Gestapo-Hauptquartier, sowie in vorangegangenen Positionen, ordnete Hagenlocher Einsätze an, die ihm vor der Spruchkammer die Einstufung als Hauptschuldigen einbrachten. Nach mehrfacher Berufung wurde das Verfahren im Januar 1951 eingestellt. Zahlreiche Akten belegen heute die nationalsozialistische Mittäterschaft und sind u. a. im Haus der Geschichte Stuttgart, Hotel Silber Stuttgart, im Staatsarchiv Ludwigsburg sowie im Bundesarchiv einsehbar.

Der Kunstverein Reutlingen distanziert sich klar gegen jede Form von nationalsozialistischem Gedankengut und Diskriminierungen aller Art und strebt eine institutionskritische Aufarbeitung der Vergangenheit an.

Vorstand

Dr. Aline Lukaszewitz
Vorsitz
Dr. Jörg Meyer
1. Stellvertretung Vorsitz
Prof. Henning Eichinger
2. Stellvertretung Vorsitz
Roland Martin
Schatzmeister
Eberhard Freudenreich
Künstler
Eckart Hahn
Künstler
Thomas Keck
Oberbürgermeister Reutlingen
Tanja Niederfeld
Künstlerin
Dipl.-Ing. Hubert Reiff
Unternehmer
Dipl.-Ing. Wolfgang Riehle
Architekt
Ehrhard Vogel
Unternehmer
Katharina Wandel-Kretzschmar
Unternehmerin

Team

Imke Kannegießer, M.A.
Geschäftsführung und Künstlerische Leitung
Maren Keß-Hälbig
Kuratorische Assistenz
Susanne Koch
Büromanagement und Mitgliederbetreuung
Ingeborg Kehrer-Gmelin
Besucherservice
Kristina Nägele-Holder
Besucherservice
Monika Nickel
Besucherservice
Dr. Eberhard Böhm-Sturm
Technische Unterstützung
  • Kunstverein Reutlingen
  • Kunstverein Reutlingen
Außenansicht Wandel-Hallen, Eberhardstraße 14 und Bibliothek Kunstverein Reutlingen, 1. OG, Foto: Frank Kleinbach.